Sacagawea Dollar Specifications

specificationsThe Sacagawea Dollar introduced a new type of composition created to have a distinctive golden color. The composition consists of a core of pure copper with an outer layer of manganese brass consisting of 77% copper, 12% zinc, 7% manganese and 4% nickel.

Including both the core and outer layers, the overall composition is 88.5% copper, 6% zinc, 3.5% manganese, and 2% nickel. This same composition was used for the Presidential Dollar series introduced in 2007.

All Sacagawea Dollars have a diameter of 26.5 mm and weight of 8.1 grams. The edge of the coin was originally plain, but following the relaunch of the series in 2009, the edge contained the date, mint mark, and motto “E Pluribus Unum”.

The series has been struck for circulation at the Philadelphia, Denver and West Point Mints. Coins struck at West Point carried the “P” mint mark to prevent hoarding by collectors. Proof issues have been struck at the San Francisco Mint for each year of the series and carry the “S” mint mark. From 2000 to 2008, the mint mark location is the obverse, underneath the date.

Dates: 2000 – 2008, 2009 onwards as Native American Dollars
Mint Mark: P (Philadelphia), D (Denver), S (San Francisco)
Composition: 88.5% copper, 6% zinc, 3.5% manganese, 2% nickel
Weight: 8.1 grams
Diameter: 26.5 mm
Edge: Plain, lettered from 2009 onwards
Designer: Glenna Goodacre (obverse), Thomas D. Rogers Sr. (reverse)